The Indonesians call Demokrasi Liberal (liberal democracy) the period that begins in 1950, in the wake of the recognition of Indonesian sovereignty and the end of the ” Indonesian Revolution “, and ends with the inauguration by President Soekarno of the ” Democracy Directed “in 1957 .

This period is marked by many important events, such as the Bandung Conference in 1955, the first elections in Indonesian history and the formation of a Constituent Assembly . It is also a period of political instability, during which the cabinets do not last 2 years.