Indonesian rupiah

The Indonesian rupiah or rupiah (IDR) is the monetary unit of Indonesia . Born during the Japanese occupation during the Second World War , it became the national currency on November 2, 1949 , replacing the Dutch East Indies guilder , four years after the country’s independence. His name is inspired by the monetary unit of India: the Indian rupee .

Read More Indonesian rupiah