The Treaty of Sumatra signed onbetween the United Kingdom and the Kingdom of the Netherlands stipulates in particular that:

  • Article I: The United Kingdom no longer sees any objection to the extension of Dutch rule in the island of Sumatra and renounces the reservations set out in the Treaty of London of 1824 .
  • Article II: The Kingdom of the Netherlands declares that British trade and navigation in the Kingdom of Siak Sri Indrapura may continue, as well as in any other native state in Sumatra which may become dependent on the Dutch crown.